ECER

Course Information

This course revolves around data: what it consists of, what it can say and do, how to handle it responsibly, who defines it and who is defined by it. In our approach to each of these questions, we will combine ethical reflection with practical application of skills and tools. We will pay special attention to new forms of data generated in and by digital technologies, which are now nearly ubiquitous in ethnographic field sites and our own research practice.

Code
6491av2et
ECTS
5.0
Level
100
Period
Semester 2, Block 2

Instructors

Name Email
John Boy, PhD j.d.boy@fsw.leidenuniv.nl
Anne Veens j.b.m.veens@fsw.leidenuniv.nl
Irene Moretti i.moretti@fsw.leidenuniv.nl
Ruben Reus r.t.reus@fsw.leidenuniv.nl
Tim van de Meerendonk t.van.de.meerendonk@fsw.leidenuniv.nl
Wiebe Ruijtenberg w.d.ruijtenberg@fsw.leidenuniv.nl
Willem van Wijk w.l.van.wijk@fsw.leidenuniv.nl

Dates

week theme lecture tutorials due
1 Contemporary Challenges to Ethical Research Apr 12, 9:15–11:00 Apr 12–13
2 Data, Data Everywhere Apr 19, 9:15–11:00 Apr 19–20 Assignment 1
3 Hacking Ethnography I Apr 26, 9:15–11:00 none
4 Hacking Ethnography II none May 3–4 Assignment 2
5 Metrics, Impact and Academic Audit Cultures May 6, 14:30–16:00 none
6 The Open Imperative May 17, 9:15–11:00 May 17–18 Assignment 3

Please consult MyTimetable 🐓 for the schedule of your tutorial sessions.

All times CEST unless otherwise noted.

Readings

The required book for this class is Kimberly Kay Hoang, Dealing in Desire (University of California Press, 2015). It is available electronically through the university library catalog. You will read this book at your own pace, aiming to complete it in time for assignment 3.

Other required and supplementary readings will be available for download.

Academic Integrity

This class adheres to Leiden University’s regulations on academic integrity. According to the university, “Plagiarism is understood as presenting, intentionally or otherwise, someone else’s words, thoughts, analyses, argumentations, pictures, techniques, computer programmes, etc., as your own work.”

We will refer all suspected violations of these regulations to the examination committee. Be careful to properly cite all works you draw on in your assignments. The University Library offers tutorials and advice on what and how to cite.

Changes

This syllabus is a living document and may be adapted as the course progresses. You can keep track of changes in the timeline.